Dateien hochladenUpload files

File format and directory structure for documents

To clear up any misunderstandings beforehand: your data are duplicated, not relocated, to DuEPublico. Everything remains in its place as before.

Your document may exist in any machine-readable format. If it is written in one of the standard formats, DuEPublico will make the programme needed to open the document available to users for downloading, automatically and directly in the document description. If, however, you are looking to target a large circle of users (without annoying them), it is worth bearing in mind that there is not just one single platform and one single operating system. Should you have the possibility, you can convert your document into other formats and include these different versions in DuEPublico as file domains. The HMTL, PDF and Postscript formats are universally readable beyond the limits of computer architectures and software systems. Although a number of converters are available for Word data formats, not all function one hundred per cent, however, with the result that the one or other user may be confronted with occasional corruptions of your original document, this being all the more the case the more elaborately you have constructed the data file.

Your document probably consists not just of one single data file but of a group of data files that are perhaps ordered hierarchically in directories. DuEPublico is able to follow this hierarchy. ZIP your files in any structure you want and upload it to DuEPublico. The system will unzip the file and put all files into the document. Subdirectories are kept inside this process. The data files do not have to be on the hard disk of your computer. Flash drives, CD-ROMs or PC drives are equally as good as long as they are directly accessible.

URL instead of copying

DuEPublico offers the user the possibility to download all data files from a file set in a ZIP data file. If you wish to disable this service for copyright reasons, you can specify the URL of the document on your own server instead of copying the document files to DuEPublico. The DuEPublico user will then find an external link in the document description. If choosing this option you should enter any changes in the address of the document on your server as soon as possible in DuEPublico as well as to avoid the annoying problem of non-accessible links.

Full-text search

Full-text search

With DuEPublico you can make all words of your document searchable, not only the words of the document description which you create with the input mask. DuEPublico automatically takes all words in text files, HTML files and XML files of the document into the full-text index.
Please note that, e.g., DOC or RTF files not contain pure text, but, in addition, still formats and graphic elements.

Dateien hochladenUpload files

Dateienformat und Verzeichnisstruktur der Dokumente

Eine Klarstellung vorweg: Ihre Dateien werden nach DuEPublico kopiert, nicht verschoben. Alles bleibt bei Ihnen an seinem Platz erhalten.

Ihr Dokument darf in jeder computerlesbaren Form existieren. Falls es in einem der gängigen Formate geschrieben ist, stellt DuEPublico den Nutzern die zum Öffnen der Dokumente notwendigen Programme zum Download zur Verfügung, und zwar automatisch und unmittelbar in der Dokumentbeschreibung. Wenn Sie jedoch einen großen Nutzerkreis ansprechen wollen - ohne ihn zu verärgern - so lohnt es sich, daran zu denken, dass es nicht nur eine einzige Plattform und ein einziges Betriebssystem gibt. Wenn es Ihnen möglich ist, können Sie Ihr Dokument in andere Formate konvertieren und diese unterschiedlichen Fassungen nebeneinander als Dateibereiche in DuEPublico einstellen. Über die Grenzen der Rechnerarchitekturen und Betriebssysteme hinaus sind vor allem die Formate HTML, PDF und Postscript universell lesbar. Für Word-Dateien ist zwar eine Reihe von Konvertierern verfügbar, die jedoch alle nicht hundertprozentig arbeiten, so dass der eine oder andere Nutzer mit punktuellen Verfremdungen Ihres Originals konfrontiert werden kann, um so mehr, je kunstvoller Sie die Datei aufgebaut haben.

Wahrscheinlich besteht Ihr Dokument nicht nur aus einer einzigen Datei, sondern aus einer Gruppe von Dateien, die vielleicht hierarchisch in Verzeichnissen geordnet sind. DuEPublico kann diese Hierarchie nachvollziehen. Packen Sie Ihre Dateien in ein ZIP-Datei und laden Sie diese hoch. DuEPublico wird die Datei automatisch auspacken und einzeln in das Dokument legen. Die Verzeichnisstruktur bleibt bei diesem Vorgang erhalten. Die Dateien müssen nicht auf der Festplatte Ihres Rechners liegen. USB-Stick, CD-ROM oder Netzlaufwerk sind genauso gut, wenn sie eben nur direkt erreichbar sind.

URL statt Kopie

DuEPublico bietet dem Nutzer die Möglichkeit, alle Dateien eines Dateibereichs in einer ZIP-Datei herunterzuladen. Wenn Sie aus urheberrechtlichen Gründen diesen Service ausschalten wollen, können Sie, anstatt die Dokumentdateien nach DuEPublico zu kopieren, die URL des Dokuments auf Ihrem eigenen Server angeben. Der DuEPublico-Nutzer wird dann in der Dokumentbeschreibung einen externen Link vorfinden. Wenn Sie diese Form wählen, so sollten Sie Adressänderungen des Dokuments auf Ihrem Server möglichst bald auch in DuEPublico eintragen, um das lästige Problem nicht erreichbarer Links zu vermeiden.

Volltextindexierung

Volltextindexierung

Mit DuEPublico können Sie alle Wörter Ihres Dokuments suchfähig machen, nicht nur die Wörter der Dokumentbeschreibung, die Sie mit der Eingabemaske erstellen. DuEPublico übernimmt automatisch alle Wörter in reinen Textdateien, HTML-Dateien und XML-Dateien des Dokuments in den Volltextindex.
Beachten Sie bitte, dass z.B. DOC- oder RTF-Dateien nicht reinen Text, sondern zusätzlich noch Formate und graphische Elemente enthalten.